Author Topic: BALLS!!  (Read 808 times)

Offline Alkire193

• VIP
  • Street Cred: 10
  • I have candy.....
BALLS!!
« on: April 22, 2010, 01:05:19 AM »
I knew that would get your attention  :rofl:

I was originally going to slap some Tire Balls in my atv. http://www.tireballs.com/

However im having second thoughts. It seems like additional weight, kind of a pain in the  :mad: to install and when I puncture one cell, now I have to replace the cell AND the tire I punctured.

Im using 6-ply GNCC's or RAZR 2's so im thinking about skipping this $800 investment. But im on edge about whether or not that might leave me with a DNF or race day.

Opinions??

jstev

Re: BALLS!!
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2010, 04:24:12 AM »
I have been running ITP XCT's for about three years now, same set btw.   I have only had one flat on these tires, that was a nail at my Dad's house.   90% of the wear on these tires is from rocks.  Two seasons on them in Montana where the whole trail is just sharp rocks.   Here also the place I ride the Most is nasty rocks.    I just think with 6 ply tires that the tire balls are not neccesary :thumbs:

Offline Alkire193

• VIP
  • I have candy.....
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2010, 03:25:31 PM »
I have been running ITP XCT's for about three years now, same set btw.   I have only had one flat on these tires, that was a nail at my Dad's house.   90% of the wear on these tires is from rocks.  Two seasons on them in Montana where the whole trail is just sharp rocks.   Here also the place I ride the Most is nasty rocks.    I just think with 6 ply tires that the tire balls are not neccesary :thumbs:

3 years? Really?

I only had one issue that kind of jumped out at me was at the 2009 Titan, when i got home it looked as if I took a chisel and gouged out the side of tire, a massive chunk was missing. The tire stayed inflated but if it had 1 ply left that would have been generous. Its an eye opener, but 6 ply seems like it covers all the bases.