Shout Box

...loading shoutbox...

Author Topic: Newbie here  (Read 1839 times)

Offline UndeadMetalhead

• Street Cred: 0
Newbie here
« on: July 25, 2010, 01:31:19 PM »
Bought a 2009 Raptor yesterday. Dunno if I'm going to keep my Banshee or not but my 08 Wr450 is jealous. Anyway should I wait till the motor is broke in before I get the big 3? Only 1.5 hours on it right now.. Also will the PCIII codes work with the PCV?

Offline Spartan

• Most Picked on
  • Street Cred: 16
  • Koolaid maker
Re: Newbie here
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2010, 02:01:41 PM »
Welcome to the site, you will enjoy the new ride!

You'll get varied answers on it...but IMO ride it stock a few times to get a feel for it then start modding...so you can actually feel the differences in it. You can add it on at any time you want.

And yes PC3 "codes" will work on the PC5, the PC5 software has a map import function on the new versions.

Offline Diggs59

• VIP
  • Street Cred: 3
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2010, 02:06:07 PM »
The PCIII maps will not work with the PC5 (from what I've read right after the PC5 first came out). If money is not a concern then I say go ahead and do the big 3 now. As far as breakin it in....Some people swear by riding it like you stole it from the get-go and some swear by taking it easy at first.

I did a mix of the 2 above scenarios through all the gears BUT I never red-lined it in any of them and I definitely didn't top it out in fifth until after the break in period was over. Hell, some people even say that "newer engines" nowadays don't need a break in. It's a mixed bag of answers IMO.

Offline Diggs59

• VIP
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2010, 02:07:58 PM »
And yes PC3 "codes" will work on the PC5, the PC5 software has a map import function on the new versions.

So when the PC5 first came out they didn't work with the PC3 maps, correct?

Offline Spartan

• Most Picked on
  • Koolaid maker
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2010, 02:55:00 PM »