Shout Box

...loading shoutbox...

Author Topic: HELP! bottome engine noise  (Read 1493 times)

Offline buddyayres

• Street Cred: 0
    • Email
HELP! bottome engine noise
« on: June 06, 2009, 09:12:24 PM »
ok I’m pretty new to raptors and well from what i have heard was to stay away from the 01 and 02's but i couldn’t pass up the deal and thought i was trading my truck for a 02 and it turned out to be a 01 o well... any ways when i got it this last Monday, i have owned it for 5 days. it liked to stall allot but changed the plug and cleaned the ( never been clean) K&N filter and it actually idle by its still for quite awhile. but when it stalls it makes a pretty nasty’s sounding noise. i didn’t like it but i was figuring it was the starter one way or some thinking seeing that the noise came from the lower bottom of the left side of the engine. well i took it to silver lake today and while i was ridding it i heard a sounds for about 1 second that i could only describe as a rod knock. but it went so fast i didn’t even know it was just some thing i thought i heard. i was going at about 3 gear pegged going up a hill. well about an hour latter i was ridding and about to go up a hill and was about to shift out of 3 into fourth and then it happened. it sounds allot like a rod knock but imp not exactly sure. i checked the oil and it was low but i also have a oil leak in the same spot on then engine. but it wasn’t that low. well i had to drive it back knocking like that. well then i had to drive it off the dunes and it was still knocking but has all the power it has always had. i was wondering if any one has had a similar problem? I’m sure some one has i cant be the only one? I’m wondering does any one know what it might be? what are all the possibilities. i know it could be a rod knock witch I’m hoping not but what other things in these engines could cause a loud knocking sound? also does any one know about how much it could cost me being the worst case and it is a rod knoc